1. Theory
- Definition: A directly modulated laser (DML) carries the data by changing its injection current. The laser is biased above threshold, a data current is added, and the output power follows the current, so no separate modulator is needed. Distributed-feedback (DFB), distributed-reflector, coupled-cavity and photonic-crystal lasers are all used this way (Lumentum; ETRI; NUSOD abstract; NTT).
- Speed limit: Carriers and photons exchange energy in a resonance, the relaxation oscillation, at . The response is flat up to about and falls above it, so and the damping set the bandwidth (KIT; Hantschmann et al.).
- Damping: The damping rate is , so the bandwidth cannot exceed however hard the laser is driven (Hantschmann et al.). From the arXiv table, with the gain compression corrected to , I compute and a limit of 21.3 .
- Beyond the limit: An optical resonance between the main mode and a side mode, the photon-photon resonance, can lift the response far above the carrier limit: 46 for a DFB+R laser (ETRI) and 110.6 for a coupled-cavity DFB laser (NUSOD abstract).
- Chirp: The same carrier change that modulates the power also shifts the index, so the frequency moves with the power: . The chirp broadens the spectrum and limits the fibre reach through dispersion (arXiv; RF Essentials).
- Figures of merit: , the D-factor, the K-factor, the bandwidth, the linewidth enhancement factor , the extinction ratio and TDECQ, and the energy per bit.
- Scope: The threshold, gain and cavity physics of these lasers are on the DFB, quantum-well and quantum-dot laser pages; the vertical-cavity laser has its own page. This page covers what changes when the current is modulated.
2. Working Principle
- Bias and drive: The bias sets the photon density and so . The data current moves the output between a low and a high level, with . PhotonForge uses 45 and 70 above a 35.9 threshold.
- Carrier-photon dynamics: A current step raises the carrier density, the gain overshoots, the photon density builds up and depletes the carriers again, so the output rings at before it settles. The small-signal version of this is the second-order response .
- Damping: Gain compression () and the finite carrier lifetime damp the ringing. Heavy damping (large ) flattens the response but lowers the bandwidth reached at a given current.
- Parasitics: The contact resistance and pad capacitance add a pole , and Finisar quotes an RC cut-off of about 22 for its device.
- Photon-photon resonance: A side mode (or a mode of a coupled cavity) at a frequency from the main mode makes a second peak. If it falls where the carrier response is rolling off, the bandwidth is extended (NUSOD; ETRI; Lumentum).
- Chirp and fibre: The edges carry a transient chirp and the levels an adiabatic chirp; with a positive and fibre dispersion the pulses broaden or compress depending on the sign of .
- Equalisation: For PAM4 at 53 the Nyquist frequency is 26.6 , above a 20.1 laser bandwidth, so the signal is pre- or post-equalised (computed for a single pole).
3. Applications
- Data-centre transmitters: Uncooled 50 PAM4 DMLs on four CWDM wavelengths reached 10 (AOI, 2017), and DFB lasers 150 long reached 106 PAM4 (53 ) over 500 m and 2 (Lumentum, 2022). A DML is simpler and smaller than an electro-absorption modulated laser (qualitative statement of Lumentum).
- Access networks: A 10 DML over 20 and a chirp-managed 25 laser over 40 (Finisar, TWDM PON).
- Long-reach 10 Gbit/s: A chirp-managed 1550 nm laser with an optical filter reached beyond 100 (Azna article).
- On-chip optical links: Photonic-crystal lasers need only 4.4 to 14 per bit (NTT; Matsuo), for short links on silicon.
- Quantum-dot lasers on silicon: A 1.3 laser on silicon had a small-signal bandwidth of 1.6 because of its large K-factor (Hantschmann et al.).
Rate Equations and Static Behaviour
| Name | Formula | Related Formulae | Variables/Constants |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rate equations with gain compression | |||
| Output power, photon density and slope | |||
| Turn-on delay and the bias point | |||
| Output levels, extinction ratio and modulation amplitude |
Small-Signal Dynamics
| Name | Formula | Related Formulae | Variables/Constants |
|---|---|---|---|
| Relaxation oscillation frequency and D-factor | |||
| Damping, K-factor and the bandwidth limit | |||
| Modulation response and 3 dB bandwidth | |||
| Photon-photon resonance |
Chirp and Fibre Transmission
| Name | Formula | Related Formulae | Variables/Constants |
|---|---|---|---|
| Frequency chirp of a directly modulated laser | |||
| Fibre transfer function and the first null | |||
| Dispersion near the zero-dispersion wavelength |
Energy and Equalisation
| Name | Formula | Related Formulae | Variables/Constants |
|---|---|---|---|
| Energy per bit of a directly modulated laser | |||
| PAM4 Nyquist frequency and the equalisation boost | |||
| Temperature dependence of the relaxation frequency |
Important Questions
Ques: Is the bandwidth of the generic DFB laser 15.0, 16.4 or 25.5 GHz?
The arXiv paper lists = 10.6 and = 25.5 at 75 , but its own approximation gives 16.4 (computed). I linearised the rate equations with its table: = 0.418 , a damping rate of at 10.6 , and a second-order response with at 15.0 , which is 1.41 (computed). The damping bound is 21.3 (computed), so 25.5 cannot come from the carrier-photon response of this table alone, and the paper does not say what else contributes (my reading). For the stated parameters I regard 15 to 16 as more likely, and 25.5 as the value of the simulated device. Reference: arXiv:2405.09907 (2024), end-to-end optimisation of optical communication systems based on directly modulated lasers (title from the search result; authors not checked; arxiv.org PDF read through a fetch-tool summary); Exercise 08 and its solution, Institute of Photonics and Quantum Electronics, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (ipq.kit.edu PDF; garbled text extraction read through a fetch-tool summary, which flagged its own maximum-bandwidth statement as unreliable); Hantschmann, Vasil’ev, Chen, Liao, Seeds, Liu, Penty and White, small-signal modulation of a 1.3 um InAs/GaAs quantum-dot laser on silicon (two accepted-manuscript files at discovery-pp.ucl.ac.uk, ids 10072362 and 10067505; journal and year not stated in the text read; read through fetch-tool summaries in which several symbols were garbled).
Ques: Is the gain compression factor or cubic metres?
Table 1 of the arXiv paper prints = (as printed), which looks suspicious. The photon density at 75 follows from its Eq. 4: = (computed, with = 0.2 and 1500 nm), so would be and the laser would not lase. With it is 0.31, a normal value, so I treat the exponent as a sign error (my reading). The choice matters: is then 8.0 , three times = 2.6 , so gain compression sets K (0.418 , computed) and lowers the estimated from 9.5 to 8.3 (computed). Reference: arXiv:2405.09907 (2024), end-to-end optimisation of optical communication systems based on directly modulated lasers (title from the search result; authors not checked; arxiv.org PDF read through a fetch-tool summary).
Ques: Do the tabulated parameters reproduce the reported threshold and relaxation frequency?
Only roughly. With = (my assumption) the threshold is = and = 4.80 (computed), 18 per cent above the reported 4.06 . The relaxation frequency at 75 comes out at 9.5 without and 8.3 with gain compression (computed), against the reported 10.6 , that is 10 to 22 per cent low. Three of my assumptions can account for the gap: the gain coefficient, the 1500 nm photon energy, and the linear gain, whereas the paper’s Eq. 5 is logarithmic with an unreported saturation density. I regard the reported values as what its simulation produced and my numbers as a check that the table is self-consistent to about 20 per cent. Reference: arXiv:2405.09907 (2024), end-to-end optimisation of optical communication systems based on directly modulated lasers (title from the search result; authors not checked; arxiv.org PDF read through a fetch-tool summary).
Ques: How can a 150 um DFB laser reach 20.1 GHz when its is only 3 to 4?
Lumentum quotes = 3.8 to 4.4 at 25 degrees Celsius and 2.8 to 3.0 at 85 degrees Celsius, without units (I read them as ), and a bandwidth of 20.1 at 70 and 85 degrees Celsius. A second-order response peaks at and has its point at most 1.55 above it, so 2.9 would give about 4.5 and 4 about 6.2 (computed), three to four times lower than 20.1. The article does not explain the difference, but it describes an asymmetric corrugation pitch with a normalised coupling of about 2.0, which suggests detuned loading and an optical resonance that carries the response (my reading). I regard the 20.1 as measured and the small as the carrier-photon resonance only. Reference: Onga, Nakajima, Sekino, Nakanishi, Sasada, Nakajima, Sakamoto and Naoe (Lumentum Japan), ‘Easing data-centre demands with directly modulated lasers’, Compound Semiconductor 28(3), 12 April 2022 (compoundsemiconductor.net; fetch-tool summary; the article gives the relaxation frequency without units); Kim, Han, Yun, Park and Lee (ETRI and JBNU), DFB+R laser with detuned loading and photon-photon resonance, ICTC 2025, pp. 1353-1356, DOI 10.1109/ICTC66702.2025.11387824 (abstract page at pure.jbnu.ac.kr, read through a fetch-tool summary; the title is partly my reading of the page address).
Ques: Are bandwidths of 46 and 110.6 GHz consistent with the K-factor limit?
Only if the carrier-photon response is not the limit. A purely damped laser needs , which is 0.19 for 46 and 0.08 for 110.6 (computed), against 0.42 in the arXiv table and 3.7 for the quantum-dot laser. The ETRI DFB+R laser and the NUSOD coupled-cavity laser both name photon-photon resonance, and a side-mode spacing of 0.3 at 1310 nm would put a resonance at 52 (computed, assumed spacing). The NUSOD page is only a teaser without length or wavelength, so I cannot check its numbers (my reading). Such a resonance gives a peak, not a flat band, so the response between and the peak must still be acceptable for the signal. Reference: Kim, Han, Yun, Park and Lee (ETRI and JBNU), DFB+R laser with detuned loading and photon-photon resonance, ICTC 2025, pp. 1353-1356, DOI 10.1109/ICTC66702.2025.11387824 (abstract page at pure.jbnu.ac.kr, read through a fetch-tool summary; the title is partly my reading of the page address); NUSOD 2020 abstract LD09, ‘Over 100 GHz 3-dB down bandwidth by direct modulation of a coupled cavity DFB-LD due to photon-photon resonance’ (nusod2020.polito.it; teaser page only; the author index lists T. Numai, my reading); arXiv:2405.09907 (2024), end-to-end optimisation of optical communication systems based on directly modulated lasers (title from the search result; authors not checked; arxiv.org PDF read through a fetch-tool summary).
Ques: Why does a photonic-crystal laser use femtojoules per bit and a data-centre DML about a picojoule?
NTT reports less than 10 per bit at 10 and 80 for the LEAP laser, 14 per bit at 12.5 for the 7.8 laser and 4.4 per bit in a later talk. The first is at most 100 , so the voltage is at most 1.25 V (computed). A 70 laser at an assumed 1.5 V and 106.25 needs 0.99 per bit (computed, driver not included), 70 to 225 times more. The reasons are volume (0.12 against 36 in the arXiv table, 300 times, computed), threshold and output power: the small lasers emit microwatts into a waveguide, the large ones more than 6.7 into a fibre. Both numbers are right for their purposes; the sources give no energy per delivered optical power. Reference: NTT Basic Research Laboratories summary of a lambda-scale embedded active-region photonic-crystal (LEAP) laser (rd.ntt report13/report30E; fetch-tool summary; authors and publication not stated on the page); NTT summary of the photonic-crystal nanocavity laser of Sato, Takeda, Shinya, Nozaki, Taniyama, Hasebe, Kakitsuka, Notomi and Matsuo (rd.ntt report12/report30e; fetch-tool summary; the page cites Optics Express 20, 3773 (2012)); S. Matsuo, seminar abstract ‘Advanced semiconductor lasers: ultra-low operating energy and heterogeneous integration with Si photonics devices’, IEEE Ottawa, 3 December 2019 (4.4 fJ/bit; abstract page only); Onga, Nakajima, Sekino, Nakanishi, Sasada, Nakajima, Sakamoto and Naoe (Lumentum Japan), ‘Easing data-centre demands with directly modulated lasers’, Compound Semiconductor 28(3), 12 April 2022 (compoundsemiconductor.net; fetch-tool summary; the article gives the relaxation frequency without units); arXiv:2405.09907 (2024), end-to-end optimisation of optical communication systems based on directly modulated lasers (title from the search result; authors not checked; arxiv.org PDF read through a fetch-tool summary).
Ques: How large is the chirp of a directly modulated laser?
The sources do not agree because they describe different things. Finisar quotes an adiabatic chirp of about 30 for a 10 DML after a filter, and a chirp-managed design with about 5 . From the arXiv table I compute 2.40 for = 3 (assumed), that is 12 for a 5 swing and 28 at 11.7 (computed), and a mean transient chirp of 22 for a ratio and a 15 edge (assumed). The paper itself gives neither nor . The values scale with , from 1.6 to 4.0 for 2 to 5. Tens of gigahertz are more likely for an ordinary DFB DML, and the 5 belongs to the chirp-managed case. Reference: Matsui, Lin, Chen and Sudo (Finisar), ‘Wavelength-tunable DBR laser for burst mode TWDM PON applications’, IEEE 802.3 Super-PON presentation, 11-12 September 2018 (grouper.ieee.org PDF; fetch-tool summary; some slide formulas garbled); arXiv:2405.09907 (2024), end-to-end optimisation of optical communication systems based on directly modulated lasers (title from the search result; authors not checked; arxiv.org PDF read through a fetch-tool summary); RF Essentials, chirp parameter glossary page (rfessentials.com; fetch-tool summary; the page gives two forms of the fibre transfer function that disagree, and I use the later one).
Ques: Why did the shorter-wavelength lanes improve with distance and the longer ones degrade?
Lumentum finds that its 1271 and 1291 nm lanes improved with distance (500 m and 2 ) while the 1311 and 1331 nm lanes slightly degraded, and attributes this to chromatic dispersion. With an assumed slope of 0.09 and a zero-dispersion wavelength of 1310 nm, the dispersion is -3.5, -1.7, +0.1 and +1.9 on the four lanes (computed). A laser with positive is blue-shifted on the rising edge. With negative dispersion that edge arrives later and the pulse is compressed; with positive dispersion it arrives earlier and the pulse broadens. This is my explanation, not the authors’, and it needs the real zero-dispersion wavelength of the fibre, which can lie between 1300 and 1324 nm (background knowledge). Reference: Onga, Nakajima, Sekino, Nakanishi, Sasada, Nakajima, Sakamoto and Naoe (Lumentum Japan), ‘Easing data-centre demands with directly modulated lasers’, Compound Semiconductor 28(3), 12 April 2022 (compoundsemiconductor.net; fetch-tool summary; the article gives the relaxation frequency without units); RF Essentials, chirp parameter glossary page (rfessentials.com; fetch-tool summary; the page gives two forms of the fibre transfer function that disagree, and I use the later one).
Ques: Why can a 1550 nm DML reach only 20 km at 10 Gbit/s while an O-band DML carries 50 Gbit/s over 10 km?
The dispersion-length product decides. At 1550 nm with 17 over 20 it is 340 ps/nm, and the first fibre null is at 6.1 for = 3 (computed), close to the 5 that RF Essentials gives for a DFB laser at 20 and just above the 5 Nyquist frequency of 10 NRZ. Finisar’s DML reached 20 at 10 . In the O-band, |D| stays below about 3.5 (computed with assumed values), so 10 gives 35 ps/nm, ten times less, which is why AOI reached 10 at 50 PAM4 with an extinction ratio of up to . Chirp management raises 1550 nm reach to 40 at 25 (Finisar). Reference: RF Essentials, chirp parameter glossary page (rfessentials.com; fetch-tool summary; the page gives two forms of the fibre transfer function that disagree, and I use the later one); Matsui, Lin, Chen and Sudo (Finisar), ‘Wavelength-tunable DBR laser for burst mode TWDM PON applications’, IEEE 802.3 Super-PON presentation, 11-12 September 2018 (grouper.ieee.org PDF; fetch-tool summary; some slide formulas garbled); Applied Optoelectronics press release, ‘Applied Optoelectronics Announces 50 Gbps PAM-4 Directly Modulated Lasers’, 8 August 2017 (investors.ao-inc.com; fetch-tool summary).
Ques: Can a 20.1 GHz laser carry 106 Gbit/s PAM4?
Lumentum shows that it can, with little margin. At 53 the Nyquist frequency is 26.6 , so a single-pole response needs a boost of 1.66, or , to flatten it (computed; the real response is not single-pole). The bit error ratio stayed below the KP4-FEC limit of up to 85 degrees Celsius, with TDECQ of 2.6 to at 25 degrees Celsius and 3.1 to at 50 degrees Celsius, against a limit of , so at 50 degrees Celsius the margin is zero to . The extinction ratio was set to , half (in dB) of the that AOI quotes at 25 . The article does not say where the equalisation sits, so I cannot tell how much of the boost is in the laser driver. Reference: Onga, Nakajima, Sekino, Nakanishi, Sasada, Nakajima, Sakamoto and Naoe (Lumentum Japan), ‘Easing data-centre demands with directly modulated lasers’, Compound Semiconductor 28(3), 12 April 2022 (compoundsemiconductor.net; fetch-tool summary; the article gives the relaxation frequency without units); Applied Optoelectronics press release, ‘Applied Optoelectronics Announces 50 Gbps PAM-4 Directly Modulated Lasers’, 8 August 2017 (investors.ao-inc.com; fetch-tool summary).
Ques: Why is a quantum-dot laser on silicon limited to 1.6 GHz?
Hantschmann et al. measure a K-factor of 3.7 and a damping offset of 2.0 , equal to a lifetime of 0.5 . The damping bound is 2.40 (computed), and the measured 1.6 at 40 is below it. The arXiv DFB table gives 0.418 (computed), 8.9 times smaller. Their gain compression is 0.5 to , 25 to 75 times the of the table after unit conversion (computed), although the definitions may differ (my reading). The authors point to a long photon lifetime, a low differential gain or strong gain compression. The D-factor is about 0.3 in one version of the paper and absent from the other, so I use it only as an indication. Reference: Hantschmann, Vasil’ev, Chen, Liao, Seeds, Liu, Penty and White, small-signal modulation of a 1.3 um InAs/GaAs quantum-dot laser on silicon (two accepted-manuscript files at discovery-pp.ucl.ac.uk, ids 10072362 and 10067505; journal and year not stated in the text read; read through fetch-tool summaries in which several symbols were garbled); arXiv:2405.09907 (2024), end-to-end optimisation of optical communication systems based on directly modulated lasers (title from the search result; authors not checked; arxiv.org PDF read through a fetch-tool summary); Quantum-Dot Laser page of this vault.
Related pages in this vault: Indium Phosphide Quantum-Well Electroabsorption Modulator, Silicon MOS-Capacitor Modulator, Silicon Carrier-Depletion Mach-Zehnder Modulator, Distributed Feedback Laser (DFB), Silicon Microring Modulator, Silicon Carrier-Injection PIN Modulator, Vertical-Cavity Surface-Emitting Laser (VCSEL), Nanolaser (Microdisk, Microring and Photonic Crystal), Semiconductor Lasers (Edge-Emitting and VCSEL).